Civil Engineer to Software Developer

Civil Engineer to Software Developer

Horizon

Just after I had quit my job, I read a news article about 'The Great Resignation'. There were so many other people like me out there. People who were tired of their present dismal working conditions; people who hated how stuck they felt in their current jobs. People who's ambition allowed them to hope that the bright future they could see in the horizon was indeed attainable.

In many ways, that's all of us. There is an innate desire in us to 'do better', to 'be better'. For some, that means starting a new business while for others it could mean getting to the next level in your career or job. For me it meant something more radical; and that's where my story begins. Like the wildebeest in the Kenyan Savannah, risking it all in 'The Great Migration', they choose to take their chances against the tides and the crocodiles of the Mara River to follow the precious rainfall because it holds promise. Promise of green grass and fresh water; promise of satisfaction and growth.

My name is Richard Gichuki, a 26 year old Graduate Civil Engineer from Nairobi Kenya, but, more importantly, an aspiring Full Stack Software Developer. On this blog, I plan to document my journey in real time, celebrating all the milestones and highlighting all the challenges. If it serves as an encouragement to other people on a similar journey; great! Be that as it may, many years later, standing in the great Colosseum of my achievements, I hope to smile back at 2022, pat my young self on the back and be glad for every stone that was slowly and painfully laid. Rome wasn't built in a day was it? :-)

if you_can_relate:
    print("Don't despair, there is always an immediate step you can take.")
else:
    print("Be grateful. Encourage others. ")

You can meet me here: %[linkedin.com/in/richard-gichuki-a44413147/]